# Best Smith Machines for a Home Gym

> Seven home Smith machines and Smith/cable combos checked against maker pages and reviews: bar path, bar weight, counterbalance, footprint and ceiling.

Canonical: https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-smith-machines/
Last updated: 2026-10-19

A home Smith machine can be a standalone frame, an all-in-one trainer with cables, or a kit that bolts into a rack you already own. Here are seven on sale now, what their bar path, bar weight and counterbalance mean in use, and the ceiling, footprint and floor checks to make before one arrives on a pallet.

[Shaheer Ali Khan, PhD](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/editorial-standards/#who)

Exercise Physiology & Biomechanics Specialist · ACSM-EP, CSCS

Last Updated: **October 19, 2026**

Reader-supported. We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through links on this page, at no extra cost to you.

**On the products below.** We have not tested these machines, and no figure on this page is our own measurement. Each was confirmed as currently sold on 19 October 2026 on the maker's own store (Force USA, Titan Fitness, Body-Solid, Major Fitness, Mikolo, Bells of Steel and RitFit), and its bar weight, capacity, dimensions and price were checked on that date against at least one independent source — chiefly Garage Gym Reviews, BarBend and Iron Company. A figure appears in a product's specification line only where the maker and an independent source agree; where they conflicted, we left it out and say so on the card. We chose machines sold on Amazon US where we could find them: Amazon's own pages would not load for us (they returned errors), so Amazon availability was confirmed from indexed Amazon listings for the Body-Solid and Major Fitness machines only, and each card says where we could not confirm it. The buttons are tagged Amazon searches, so check the model name and the seller. Every brand was checked against the US Consumer Product Safety Commission's recall database. Prices are those we saw on that date and change often. We earn a commission if you buy through the Amazon links on this page; it does not change which products we list or what we say about them.**What this page is, and is not.** We review home exercise equipment; we are not giving medical, physiotherapy, coaching or structural engineering advice. Rated capacities are manufacturer figures, not a guide to what you should lift. If you have a back, shoulder, knee or heart condition, are pregnant or postpartum, or are returning from injury or surgery, talk to a qualified professional before starting or changing a strength programme.

## Our Top Picks

-   Best Overall:Force USA G3 All-In-One TrainerJump to review ↓
-   Best Standalone:Titan Fitness Smith MachineJump to review ↓
-   Best Warranty:Body-Solid GS348B Series 7 Smith MachineJump to review ↓
-   Best Upgrade Path:Major Fitness B52 All-In-One Home Gym Smith MachineJump to review ↓
-   Best Value:Mikolo M4-2.0 All-In-One Smith MachineJump to review ↓

The best Smith machine for a home gym is the one whose bar path, starting weight and frame suit the room and the lifts you plan to do. A Smith bar runs on fixed rails, so you can rack it at any point by turning your wrists, and that makes heavy solo pressing and squatting far less nerve-racking. It also means the machine decides the path of the bar, and makers describe that path, the bar's weight and the frame's size in ways that are easy to misread. The seven picks below cover the three ways Smith machines reach a home — standalone, all-in-one with cables, and rack attachment — and the guide after them explains each specification in plain terms.

## 1. Our Picks at a Glance

Seven machines across the three types. The short version: the Force USA G3 if you want a Smith machine, a half rack and plate-loaded cables in one frame for about $2,000; the Titan Smith Machine if you want a counterbalanced, angled standalone Smith that feels closest to a commercial gym's; and the Bells of Steel attachment if you already own a compatible power rack and do not want another frame in the room.

| Pick | Best for | Why |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Force USA G3 All-In-One Trainer | Best overall Smith/cable combo | Smith bar, half rack and 2:1 plate-loaded cables; lifetime frame warranty |
| Titan Fitness Smith Machine | Best standalone Smith | Counterbalanced bar on linear bearings, 600 lb rating |
| Body-Solid GS348B Series 7 | Longest warranty, angled path | 7° bar path, 25 lb starting bar, in-home lifetime warranty |
| Major Fitness B52 | Smith plus a route to weight stacks | Plate-loaded Standard, or Pro and EVO with two weight stacks |
| Mikolo M4-2.0 | Most features per dollar | 800 lb bar rating and cables for about $1,100 to $1,400 |
| Bells of Steel Smith Machine Rack Attachment | Rack owners | Bolts into most 2.3 to 3 in. racks; no extra floor space |
| RitFit PSR05 2.0 | Tight budget, light training | Smith, pulldown and low row for under $600; 440 lb bar rating |

A Smith machine overlaps with two other big purchases. If cables matter more to you than the guided bar, read our guide to[the best cable machines for a home gym](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-cable-machines-for-home-gym/); if you want a multi-station stack gym with a press and leg developer rather than a barbell, our[home gym machine guide](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-home-gym-machines/)covers those. And if free-weight barbell work is the priority, a[squat rack](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-squat-racks-for-home-gym/)is still the simpler, more flexible buy.

## 2. The 7 Best Smith Machines for a Home Gym

Each card gives the figures we could confirm from two sources, the price range we saw on 19 October 2026, and who the machine suits. Read the bar weight and the dimensions first: the bar weight tells you the lightest load you can lift, and the dimensions tell you whether the frame will fit under your ceiling with room to load plates.

None of these prices includes weight plates or, apart from where a bundle is mentioned, a bench, and you will want both. Our guides to[weight benches](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-weight-benches/)and [weight plates](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-weight-plates/)cover them; a flat or adjustable bench that is not too tall matters more inside a Smith frame than in an open rack, because the bar's lowest catch and the bench height decide how far you can lower the bar on a press.

### 1. Force USA G3 All-In-One Trainer

All-in-one: Smith machine, half rack and plate-loaded cables

Best Overall

Typical street price · About $1,999

35 lb Smith bar · 2:1 plate-loaded cables · 78 x 60.5 x 87 in. (W x D x H) · 992 lb unit rating · lifetime frame, 10-yr moving parts

The G3 combines a Smith machine, a half rack with J-hooks and safety spotter arms, a functional trainer with two plate-loaded pulleys at a 2:1 ratio, a multi-grip chin-up bar and a landmine. Force USA listed it at $1,999 on 19 October and, like Garage Gym Reviews and BarBend, gives a 35 lb Smith bar; both reviewers give the same 78 by 60.5 by 87 inch frame and a 992 lb rating for the unit. Garage Gym Reviews gives the Smith bar and chin-up bar a 772 lb rating. Force USA says assembly takes around four hours, that the pulley uprights are 48 inches apart, that the recommended maximum user height is 7 ft 1 in, and that a full pull-up needs an 8 ft 4 in ceiling. Both reviewers note that the cables need your own plates and that free-barbell squats and presses happen outside the frame, not inside. The warranty is lifetime on the frame, 10 years on moving parts and one year on upholstery and attachments. Force USA ships it by freight, curbside. We could not confirm a current Amazon listing for the G3; Force USA sells it direct.

#### What We Like

-   Smith bar, half rack with J-hooks and spotter arms, and dual cable pulleys in one frame
-   Reviewers say it shares components with Force USA machines costing two to three times as much
-   Lifetime frame and 10-year moving-parts warranty, the most generous of the combos here
-   Plate-loaded cables keep the price down if you already own plates

#### What We Don't Like

-   Force USA says you need an 8 ft 4 in ceiling for full pull-ups
-   You train with a free barbell outside the rack, not inside it
-   Product weight is not published; one reviewer was told 476 lb

The best value if you want a Smith machine, a rack and cables in one footprint and can live with plate-loaded cables. Check the ceiling first.

[Shop Similar on Amazon →](https://www.amazon.com/s?k=smith+machine+functional+trainer&tag=sktiger-20)

### 2. Titan Fitness Smith Machine

Standalone counterbalanced Smith machine

Best Standalone

Typical street price · $1,685–$2,250

600 lb capacity · 45 lb counterbalanced bar · linear bearings · 75 x 54 x 86 in. (W x D x H, with sleeves) · 260 lb

Titan's Smith Machine is a standalone frame built around a counterbalanced Smith bar running on linear bearings, with two adjustable safety catches, J-hook plates with eight positions, eight Olympic plate storage posts, four band pegs and a multi-grip pull-up bar. Titan listed it at $1,684.97 on 19 October, down from $2,249.99; BarBend lists $1,699.99 and Garage Gym Reviews $2,199.99, so the price moves a lot. Titan, BarBend and Garage Gym Reviews agree on the 600 lb capacity, the 260 lb product weight and the 75 by 54 by 86 inch size (Titan gives 67 inches of width without the weight sleeves). Both reviewers give the bar as 45 lb; Garage Gym Reviews measured its felt weight at about 15 lb with a luggage scale and describes the path as angled rather than vertical. That reviewer also found the lowest catches high enough to limit full-range deadlifts. Both reviewers report a one-year warranty, while Titan's product page carries only a general no-warranty disclaimer, so read Titan's warranty terms before you buy. We could not confirm an Amazon listing for this model; Titan sells it direct.

#### What We Like

-   Counterbalanced bar; Garage Gym Reviews measured about 15 lb of felt weight
-   Linear bearings, and both reviewers describe smooth, stable travel
-   Eight plate storage posts, four band pegs and a multi-grip pull-up bar
-   Two reviewers agree on its size, weight and 600 lb rating

#### What We Don't Like

-   Lowest catches sit high, limiting floor-level deadlifts, per one reviewer
-   Warranty reported as one year; Titan’s page shows only a disclaimer, so check
-   Passive knurling on the fixed bar

The standalone Smith to buy if you want the counterbalanced, commercial-gym feel and have the floor for a full frame.

[Check Price on Amazon →](https://www.amazon.com/s?k=Titan+Fitness+Smith+Machine+Counterbalanced&tag=sktiger-20)

### 3. Body-Solid GS348B Series 7 Smith Machine

Standalone Smith machine with free-weight half rack, 7° bar path

Best Warranty

Typical street price · $1,508–$1,850

7° angled path · 25 lb starting bar · linear ball bearings · 56 x 70 x 83 in. (L x W x H) · 276 lb

The GS348B pairs a linear ball-bearing Smith system at a 7° angle with a free-weight gun rack at the same angle, 14 lift-off and racking positions, 17-inch spotter arms, six Olympic plate storage posts and a barbell holder. Body-Solid listed it in stock at $1,850 on 19 October and Iron Company at $1,508, and an Amazon listing for the GS348B was indexed. Body-Solid, Iron Company and the Amazon listing agree on the 56 by 70 by 83 inch size, the 276 lb product weight, the 7° angle and the 25 lb starting weight of the Smith bar. Body-Solid gives the Smith bar a 600 lb capacity and the gun rack 1,000 lb; the Amazon listing's specification table gives a different maximum weight recommendation, so we have left capacity off the specification line. Body-Solid says the Smith bar locks out at 20 positions and that the frame is welded 11- and 12-gauge steel. Optional attachments include a lat attachment with a 210 lb stack, a pec dec and a pull-up bar. It is covered by Body-Solid's in-home lifetime warranty and rated for commercial use.

#### What We Like

-   Body-Solid’s in-home lifetime warranty, the longest here
-   Light 25 lb starting bar suits beginners and light pressing
-   Separate 7° free-weight gun rack with 14 positions and 17 in. spotter arms
-   Add-ons for lat pulldown, pec deck and pull-up bar if you want them later

#### What We Don't Like

-   Sources differ on the Smith bar’s maximum load, so treat 600 lb as Body-Solid’s figure
-   Accepts 2 in. Olympic plates only
-   No cables unless you buy the lat attachment

The Smith machine for buyers who want an angled path, a light bar and a warranty that outlasts most home gyms.

[Check Price on Amazon →](https://www.amazon.com/s?k=Body-Solid+GS348B+Series+7+Smith+Machine&tag=sktiger-20)

### 4. Major Fitness B52 All-In-One Home Gym Smith Machine

All-in-one Smith machine; plate-loaded or dual weight stacks

Best Upgrade Path

Typical street price · $1,120–$3,000 by version

78.7 x 66.9 x 82.6 in. (W x D x H) · 400 lb Smith bar rating · 1,200 lb J-hooks (1,500 on Pro and EVO) · 1-yr warranty

The B52 combines a Smith machine, power rack, dual cable pulleys, landmine and multi-grip pull-up bar, and comes in three versions. On 19 October Major Fitness listed the plate-loaded Standard at $1,119.99 in Recon Desert and $1,499.99 in black, the Pro at $2,499.99 and the EVO at $2,999.99; Garage Gym Reviews' review gives earlier list prices. Major Fitness and Garage Gym Reviews agree on the 78.7 by 66.9 by 82.6 inch frame (the EVO is 67.7 inches deep), the 400 lb Smith bar rating, and J-hook and safety-arm ratings of 1,200 lb on the Standard and 1,500 lb on the Pro and EVO. The Pro and EVO add two 170 lb weight stacks at 2:1, per Garage Gym Reviews. Major Fitness gives the Standard's weight as 410.1 lb and the Smith bar as about 31.3 lb, and says the frame is 2 by 3 inch 14-gauge steel, with 12-gauge front uprights on the Pro and EVO. The tester Garage Gym Reviews consulted called it a good machine for a lower-ceiling gym and lifters under six feet. The warranty is one year. Amazon listings for the B52 were indexed, one shown as unavailable, so check the version and stock.

#### What We Like

-   Three versions: plate-loaded Standard, or Pro and EVO with two 170 lb stacks
-   At 82.6 in. tall, the lowest frame of the all-in-ones here
-   Smith bar, rack, dual pulleys, landmine and multi-grip pull-up bar
-   Indexed on Amazon through Major Fitness’s own store

#### What We Don't Like

-   400 lb Smith bar rating is low for heavy lifters
-   12- and 14-gauge steel rather than 11-gauge
-   One-year warranty; the Pro arrives in a dozen parcels

Buy the Standard if you want a Smith/cable combo under a lower ceiling now, and the Pro if you want weight stacks instead of loading plates onto cables.

[Check Price on Amazon →](https://www.amazon.com/s?k=Major+Fitness+B52+All-In-One+Home+Gym+Smith+Machine&tag=sktiger-20)

### 5. Mikolo M4-2.0 All-In-One Smith Machine

All-in-one Smith machine with plate-loaded cables

Best Value

Typical street price · $1,100–$1,400

35 lb Smith bar · 800 lb bar and J-hook rating · 74.8 x 71 x 87.5 in. (W x L x H)

The M4-2.0 combines a Smith machine on linear bearings, a power rack with J-hooks and spotter arms, dual plate-loaded pulleys, a landmine, dip bars and a multi-grip pull-up bar. Mikolo's own store listed the Standard version at $1,099.99 in black and $1,199.99 in red on 19 October, and the Ultra at $1,299.99 to $1,399.99; Garage Gym Reviews lists $1,399.99. Mikolo and Garage Gym Reviews agree on the 74.8 by 71 by 87.5 inch frame, the 35 lb Smith bar and the 800 lb rating for the bar and J-hooks; Mikolo gives the cables 500 lb. Mikolo describes the bar as spring-assisted, meaning shock-absorbing springs at the ends of travel, not a counterbalance, and says the cables are 2:1 and that a weight-stack kit of 60 kg a side is available. Garage Gym Reviews notes the 14-gauge steel and large footprint, and gives the warranty as limited lifetime on frame and welds and six months on parts and attachments. Mikolo is sold largely through marketplaces; we could not open Amazon's pages to confirm the current listing, so check that it is the M4-2.0 and which version.

#### What We Like

-   Highest Smith bar rating on this page for the money, by the maker’s figures
-   Rack, cables, landmine, dip bars and spotter arms included
-   Thought-through storage, including a high bar-storage hook
-   Optional weight-stack upgrade kit for the cables

#### What We Don't Like

-   14-gauge steel, thinner than heavy-duty racks
-   The largest footprint here, at about 37 square feet
-   At 87.5 in. tall, the tallest frame on this page

The most machine for the money if you have the floor and the ceiling, and train at loads well inside its ratings.

[Check Price on Amazon →](https://www.amazon.com/s?k=Mikolo+M4-2.0+Smith+Machine+All-In-One&tag=sktiger-20)

### 6. Bells of Steel Smith Machine Rack Attachment

Smith machine kit for an existing power rack

Best for Rack Owners

Typical street price · $894–$1,000

Fits 2.3–3 in. uprights, 47 or 49 in. wide racks, 72 in. or taller · 5/8 or 1 in. holes · bar included or bring your own

This kit turns an existing power rack into a Smith machine: guide rods with bearings mount to the rack's crossmembers inside the rack or its front foot stabilisers outside it, and run either a supplied Smith bar or your own barbell. Bells of Steel listed it on 19 October at $893.99 with a bar, $898.99 for the bring-your-own-bar version and $999.99 with its Anvil iso-lateral handles. Bells of Steel says it fits most non-Bells of Steel racks with 2.3 to 3 inch tubing, a height of 72 inches or more, an overall width of 47 or 49 inches and 5/8 or 1 inch holes, and that on some of its own racks it mounts at a slight angle unless you add an extra bolt kit. It ships in several boxes; Bells of Steel gives 60 to 120 minutes to install, with two people to position the rods. Garage Gym Reviews, which gives the bar as 36 lb and the kit a 600 lb capacity, praises the smooth ball bearings and footprint but warns that the bearings will wear the knurling of a barbell you install. Bells of Steel sells some equipment on Amazon, but we could not find this attachment there.

#### What We Like

-   Adds a Smith bar without adding a frame to the room
-   Mounts to crossmembers, leaving the uprights free for other attachments
-   Bring-your-own-bar version and an iso-lateral handle option
-   Lifetime frame warranty and ball bearings, per Garage Gym Reviews

#### What We Don't Like

-   Only as straight as the rack it is bolted to
-   A bar left in it permanently will have its knurling worn by the bearings, per one reviewer
-   Folding racks cannot fold with the bar installed

The cheapest route to a quality Smith bar if you already own a compatible, square power rack.

[Shop Similar on Amazon →](https://www.amazon.com/s?k=smith+machine+attachment+for+power+rack&tag=sktiger-20)

### 7. RitFit PSR05 2.0 Smith Machine with Lat Pulldown

Compact budget Smith machine with pulldown and low row

Best Budget

Typical street price · $540–$580

440 lb Smith bar rating · 82 in. tall · 140 lb · plate-loaded lat pulldown and low row

The PSR05 2.0 is a compact Smith machine with a plate-loaded lat pulldown and low row, a multi-grip pull-up bar and weight horns that double as storage. RitFit listed it at $579.99 on 19 October; Garage Gym Reviews and BarBend list $539.99. Both reviewers agree on the 440 lb Smith bar rating, the 82 inch height and the 140 lb product weight. They disagree on depth — 44 inches in one review, 70.8 inches in the other, which matches RitFit's page — and on the bar's weight (14 lb or 12.7 lb), so we have left both off the specification line; plan your space around the larger depth. BarBend gives the warranty as three years on the rack, frame and welds and one year on components. Garage Gym Reviews' founder called it a sleeper pick whose low price covers its shortcomings, and its tester found the 82-inch height limited some overhead work. RitFit is sold largely through marketplaces; we could not open Amazon's pages to confirm the current listing, so check the model name.

#### What We Like

-   A complete Smith machine with pulldown and low row for under $600
-   At 140 lb, light enough for most upstairs rooms by our arithmetic
-   Three-year rack and frame warranty, per BarBend
-   Two reviewers agree on its bar rating, height and weight

#### What We Don't Like

-   440 lb bar rating and limited cable loading suit light training
-   Depth and bar weight differ between sources
-   Passive knurling and a short frame limit some overhead work, per one tester

The Smith machine for a beginner or a light home routine on a tight budget, not for heavy lifting.

[Check Price on Amazon →](https://www.amazon.com/s?k=RitFit+PSR05+2.0+Smith+Machine+Lat+Pulldown&tag=sktiger-20)

## 3. How We Chose These Smith Machines

We have not tested these machines. They were chosen from published specifications, maker product pages and manuals, shipping and warranty terms, recall records and independent coverage, and the claims on this page are limited to what those sources support.

We started from type rather than brand. A standalone Smith machine is a frame built around the guided bar, usually with J-hooks for free-weight work as well. An all-in-one trainer adds a Smith bar to a half rack and a set of cable pulleys. A rack attachment turns a power rack you already own into a Smith machine. For each type we looked for models the maker listed as on sale on 19 October 2026, preferably sold on Amazon US too, that an independent source described in enough detail to cross-check. The independent sources were Garage Gym Reviews' Smith machine roundup and its reviews of the Titan, Force USA G3 and Major Fitness B52; BarBend's Smith machine roundup and Force USA G3 review; Iron Company's listing for the Body-Solid Series 7; and indexed Amazon listings for the Body-Solid and Major Fitness machines.

Disagreements were common, and they are why some cards carry fewer numbers than you might expect. RitFit's PSR05 2.0 is 44 inches deep in one review and 70.8 in another (RitFit's own page agrees with the larger figure), and its bar weighs 14 lb or 12.7 lb depending on the source. The Force USA G3's product weight is not published by Force USA; one reviewer was told 476 lb by customer service and another lists it as not disclosed. Body-Solid gives the Series 7 a 600 lb Smith bar capacity, while an Amazon listing's specification table gives a different maximum weight recommendation. Titan's warranty is reported as one year by both reviewers, but Titan's product page carries only a no-warranty disclaimer, so check Titan's warranty page before you buy. In each case we left the figure off the specification line and say so in the text.

Every brand on this page was checked against the CPSC recall database by recall title, manufacturer and recall description on 19 October 2026. Titan had a 2018 recall alert for its weight-lifting safety straps (models including 24T3STRAP and 36X3STRAP), whose stitching could come loose and drop the weight; that is a rack accessory, not a Smith machine, but worth checking if you are buying a used Titan rack. REP Fitness, which we discuss below, had a 2021 recall alert for strap safety brackets on its PR-4000 and PR-5000 racks. We found no recalls for Force USA, Body-Solid, Major Fitness, Mikolo, Bells of Steel or RitFit, and no recall under the terms "Smith machine" in the database.

We deliberately left several machines out. The REP Fitness Smith Machine Rack Attachment was listed at $949.99 but unavailable on REP's store; REP's Altitude Smith attachment ($699.99 to $779.99) fits only REP's Altitude rack, so it suits existing Altitude owners rather than most readers. The XMark Commercial Smith Machine was listed at $2,429 and out of stock. Marcy's Smith machines are widely sold — the MD-9010G was $1,299.99 on Marcy's store with a bench included, and Marcy and a Walmart listing agree on its 300 lb maximum user weight — but we could not find independent figures for its frame or bar to check Marcy's against, and its Smith bar and safety holders are rated at 300 lb by Marcy, the lowest here. Marcy's SM-4008 is listed as retired. The Snode All10 Pro, which one reviewer lists for small spaces, came with a one-year warranty and no published Smith bar capacity, and Major Fitness's Heritage B17 ($4,199.99 on 19 October) costs more than twice the G3 with a one-year warranty and a 400 lb Smith bar rating, per Garage Gym Reviews. Both are reasonable machines, but neither beat the cards here on the figures we could confirm.

## 4. Standalone, All-in-One or Rack Attachment

The type decides how much floor the Smith bar costs you, what else the frame can do, and how much you pay before buying plates.

**Standalone Smith machine.** A frame built around the guided bar, usually with J-hooks and spotter arms on the outside so you can also use a free barbell. The Titan and Body-Solid Series 7 are this type. They tend to have the smoothest bar travel and the most considered bar weight, because the bar is the point of the machine, but they do one job: there are no cables unless you add an attachment, and a Smith frame takes roughly the floor of a full power rack. Choose one if the guided bar is what you will use most, or if you are adding it next to a rack you already have.

**All-in-one trainer with a Smith bar.** The Force USA G3, Major Fitness B52, Mikolo M4-2.0 and RitFit PSR05 2.0 combine the Smith bar with a half rack and cables. This is the most popular home format because it replaces two or three machines, but there are compromises. The frame is larger than either a rack or a Smith machine on its own; the cable trolleys, Smith bar and J-hooks share uprights, so you set one station up at a time; and the steel is often thinner — reviewers note 12- and 14-gauge steel on the B52 and 14-gauge on the M4-2.0, against the 11-gauge typical of heavy power racks. Read the separate ratings for the Smith bar, the J-hooks and the cables, because they are often very different numbers.

**Rack attachment.** A pair of guide rods and a bar that bolt into an existing power rack. The Bells of Steel kit on this page mounts to the rack's crossmembers rather than its uprights, so the uprights stay free for other attachments. The cost is compatibility: tubing size, hole size, rack height and overall width all have to match, and the rack has to be square and solidly built, because the Smith rods are only as straight as the frame holding them. If you already own a rack, start here; our [squat rack guide](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-squat-racks-for-home-gym/)explains tubing sizes and hole spacing, and[folding racks](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-folding-squat-racks/)usually cannot fold with a Smith kit installed.

## 5. Bar Path: Vertical vs Angled Smith Machines

The rails of a Smith machine run either straight up and down or tilted a few degrees from vertical. Neither is correct for everyone, and makers do not always say which they use, so it is worth knowing what the difference amounts to.

**How much an angle moves the bar.** Body-Solid gives its Series 7 a 7° angle. Over 20 inches of vertical travel — roughly a squat for many people — a 7° rail moves the bar about 2.5 inches horizontally (20 multiplied by the tangent of 7°, which is about 0.12). That is a small shift, but it is the difference between the bar finishing over your mid-foot or slightly behind it, which is why many lifters find an angled Smith more natural for squats and lunges, where the bar would drift a little in a free squat anyway.

**Which way the angle runs matters.** On an angled machine the bar moves toward one side of the frame as it rises. If you face one way for squats and the other for presses, the path will suit one lift better than the other. Garage Gym Reviews describes Titan's bar path as angled and says its tester preferred it for lower-body work while noting that some people pressing would prefer vertical rails. Try both orientations before deciding a machine is wrong for you.

**Vertical rails.** A vertical path is simpler to set up — the bar is over the same point at the top and bottom of every rep — and it suits pressing and controlled split squats well. Bells of Steel's attachment travels vertically or at a slight angle depending on the rack it is mounted on, according to Bells of Steel: on its flat-foot racks and squat stands it mounts at a slight angle by default and needs an extra bolt kit for straight-up travel.

**Three-dimensional Smith machines.** Some commercial machines let the bar move forward and back as well as up and down. None of the machines on this page does; they all run on a single fixed line. If you have trained on a 3D Smith in a gym, expect these to feel more constrained.

Whatever the angle, the fixed path is the point and the limitation of a Smith machine. It lets you push hard without balancing the bar, which is why many lifters use one for presses and accessory work alongside free weights. It also means the machine, not your body, sets the line of the bar, so foot and bench position do the job that balance does in a free lift: set them deliberately and the same way each session.

## 6. Bar Weight and Counterbalance

A Smith bar is not a 45 lb Olympic barbell, and the figure you start from changes what you write in a training log and what a beginner can lift on day one.

| Machine | Bar weight | Counterbalanced? |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Titan Smith Machine | 45 lb (BarBend, GGR) | Yes; GGR's tester felt about 15 lb |
| Force USA G3 | 35 lb (Force USA, BarBend) | Not stated |
| Mikolo M4-2.0 | 35 lb (Mikolo, GGR) | No; spring-assisted at the ends |
| Bells of Steel attachment | 36 lb (GGR); or your own bar | No |
| Major Fitness B52 | About 31 lb (Major Fitness) | Not stated |
| Body-Solid Series 7 | 25 lb starting weight (Body-Solid, Iron Company) | Not stated |
| RitFit PSR05 2.0 | About 13 to 14 lb (sources differ) | Not stated |

**What counterbalancing does.** A counterbalanced Smith machine hangs a weight on cables and pulleys inside the frame that offsets part of the bar's mass, so the bar feels lighter than it is. Titan says its machine has a counterbalance system, and Garage Gym Reviews' tester measured the felt weight of Titan's 45 lb bar at about 15 lb with a luggage scale — that is their measurement, not ours. Counterbalancing is most useful to beginners, to anyone rehabilitating within a professional's plan, and for movements such as overhead pressing where the empty bar is already a meaningful load.

**Why the number matters even without a counterbalance.** A Smith bar's starting weight is your floor. If the bar weighs 35 lb, every Smith set you log starts at 35, not 45, and numbers do not transfer directly between machines or to a free bar. The fixed rails also take away the effort of balancing, so most people can move more on a Smith machine than with a free barbell over the same range. Neither is a flaw; just log Smith lifts as Smith lifts.

**Bar capacity is not your target weight.** The rated capacity of a Smith bar — 400 lb on the B52, 440 lb on the RitFit, 600 lb on the Titan, 800 lb on the M4-2.0 by the makers' figures — is the load the maker says the bar and its carriage can carry. It is not the same as the rating of the J-hooks or spotter arms, which is often much higher, and a static rating says nothing about catching a dropped bar. If you lift near a machine's limits, choose the one with the most margin and use its safety stops on every set.

## 7. Footprint, Ceiling Height and Working Room

Smith machines are tall and deep, and the room you need to use one is larger than the frame. These are the makers' assembled figures, rounded; the cards say where a source disagreed.

| Machine | Width x depth | Height |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Force USA G3 | 78 x 60.5 in. | 87 in. |
| Titan Smith Machine | 75 x 54 in. (67 in. wide without sleeves) | 86 in. |
| Body-Solid Series 7 | 70 x 56 in. | 83 in. |
| Major Fitness B52 | 78.7 x 66.9 in. | 82.6 in. |
| Mikolo M4-2.0 | 74.8 x 71 in. | 87.5 in. |
| RitFit PSR05 2.0 | About 46 in. wide; depth disputed | 82 in. |
| Bells of Steel attachment | Inside your rack | Needs a rack of 72 in. or taller |

**Ceiling.** A standard 8-foot ceiling is 96 inches, and every frame here is shorter than that, but the margin is often under a foot. Three things eat into it. Rubber flooring or a platform raises the frame by its thickness. Uprights are often stood up from lying flat during assembly, which needs more height than the finished frame. And the [pull-up bar](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-pull-up-bars/) sits at the top: Force USA says the G3 needs an 8 ft 4 in ceiling for a full pull-up with your head above the bar, so on a standard ceiling you may get the Smith and cables but not full pull-ups. Inside the frame, the Smith bar's highest catch, not the ceiling, usually limits standing overhead presses; tall lifters should check the top position against their reach before buying. Basements and garages are where low beams and ducts catch people out, so measure at the exact spot; our guide to [treadmills for a garage](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-treadmills-for-garage/)covers the same low-ceiling and cold-floor issues.

**Working room.** You load plates from the ends of the bar, so you need clear floor beyond each sleeve — at least the width of a plate plus your body, roughly two to three feet a side as a rule of thumb. Benches slide in and out of the frame, so leave the length of a bench in front of it. On an all-in-one, cable rows and flyes are done standing in front of or outside the frame. A sensible plan is the frame, plus three feet on each loading side and in front, marked on the floor with tape before you order. Our [space-planning guide](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/treadmill-dimensions-space-requirements/)uses the same footprint-plus-use-zone method for [cardio machines](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-cardio-machines-for-home/).

## 8. Delivery, Assembly and Floor Loading

A Smith machine arrives as several heavy boxes, usually by freight, and the bar has to run true on its rails, so assembly matters more than on most strength equipment.

**Delivery.** Force USA says items over 150 lb ship on a pallet by freight and are delivered curbside, at the end of your driveway. Plan how you will get several long, heavy cartons into the room; the uprights are the longest pieces. Garage Gym Reviews reports that Major Fitness ships the B52 Pro in eight parcels for the frame and four for the weight stacks, which may not arrive together, so do not start until every box is there.

**Assembly.** Force USA says the G3 takes around four hours and can be done alone, though help makes it faster; Bells of Steel gives 60 to 120 minutes for its attachment and recommends two people to position the guide rods; and Garage Gym Reviews says its two testers put the Titan together in about 40 minutes. We have not assembled these machines, and reviewers who built the all-in-ones describe a full day. The habits that matter: assemble where the machine will live, because moving a finished Smith frame is hard and risky; leave bolts finger-tight until the frame is square, then tighten in stages; check that the rails are parallel and the bar runs without catching through its whole travel before loading it; and lubricate the rods or bearings as the manual says. Bells of Steel notes that light lubrication keeps its bearings smooth and that uprights must be level, square and evenly tightened for the smoothest travel. Recheck bolts after the first few sessions. Our guide to[assembling a treadmill](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/how-to-assemble-a-treadmill/)covers unboxing, tools and two-person lifting, and the same habits apply.

**Floor loading.** On a ground-floor slab a Smith machine is rarely a structural concern. Upstairs, do the arithmetic. Titan lists its Smith Machine at 260 lb, a figure two reviewers agree on, and its footprint at 75 by 54 inches including the plate sleeves, or about 28 square feet. Add 405 lb of plates on the bar and the storage posts and a 200 lb lifter, and the total is about 865 lb, or roughly 31 lb per square foot averaged over the frame. That is our arithmetic from those stated inputs, not a measurement. For comparison, the International Residential Code's design live load is 40 lb per square foot for living areas and 30 for sleeping rooms. The average looks fine, but the load sits on the frame's feet, plates stored on the back of the frame concentrate it further, and floors depend on joist span and spacing that this arithmetic does not see.

As general guidance rather than engineering advice: prefer the ground floor or a slab; upstairs, place the machine near a load-bearing wall and across the joists, keep plate storage modest, and do not put it in the same corner as a loaded rack; and ask a structural engineer about an older house, a long span or a floor that already bounces. Put the frame on rubber flooring either way, to protect the floor, stop it creeping and cut the noise of a racked bar; our[gym flooring guide](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-gym-flooring/)compares the options, and[lifting platforms](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-lifting-platforms/)are worth reading if you also deadlift nearby.

## 9. Safety Catches and Using a Smith Machine Well

The guided bar is the main reason people buy a Smith machine for a home gym, where there is often no one to spot. It is only as safe as the way you set it up.

-   **Set the safety stops every session.** Every machine here has adjustable stops or catches below the bar. Set them just below the lowest point of the rep — a little under your chest on a bench press, just below your deepest squat — so that if you fail, the bar comes to rest on the stops rather than on you.
-   **Learn the rack-and-release.** Most Smith bars lock by rotating the bar so hooks drop into slots on the frame. Practise unhooking and re-hooking with the empty bar until it is automatic, because a failed rep is the worst time to learn which way to turn your wrists.
-   **Mind the bottom of the range.** Garage Gym Reviews found the lowest catches on the Titan sat high enough that its tester would need to stand on a box for full-range deadlifts or Romanian deadlifts. Check the lowest position on any machine if you plan floor-level work.
-   **Use the J-hooks and spotter arms for free-weight work.** The outside J-hooks on a combo machine are a separate system with their own rating; use the spotter arms whenever you squat or bench with a free bar, and do not mix the two systems in one lift.
-   **Keep children away.** A racked bar can be unhooked by a curious child, and cable trolleys and stored plates are pinch and crush hazards. Strip plates after training and lower the bar onto its stops.

If you are new to barbell training, the guided path is a good place to learn positions, but it does not teach balance. Many coaches pair Smith work with free-weight lifts. If you have a back, shoulder or knee condition, ask a physiotherapist or physician which movements and ranges suit you before adding load.

## 10. Who Should Buy Something Else

A Smith machine is a large purchase that does one job very well. Some readers will be better served by something else.

-   **Lifters who train for powerlifting or weightlifting.** Competition lifts are done with a free bar. A[power rack](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-squat-racks-for-home-gym/), a good [barbell](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-barbells/) and solid spotter arms cost less and transfer directly.
-   **Anyone who mostly wants cables.** A[functional trainer](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-cable-machines-for-home-gym/)gives more cable range for the money, and a Smith bar adds frame you may not use.
-   **People who want machine-guided leg work without a bar on the back.**A [leg press](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-leg-press-machines/) or a[hack squat machine](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-hack-squat-machines/)loads the legs with your back supported; a Smith squat still puts the bar on your spine.
-   **Small rooms and low ceilings.** If you cannot spare about 7 by 6 feet plus loading room, or the ceiling is under about 7.5 feet, look at a[compact home gym](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-home-gym-machines/),[adjustable dumbbells](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-adjustable-dumbbells/)or a [wall-mounted smart gym](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-smart-home-gyms/).
-   **Upstairs rooms on doubtful floors.** Choose lighter equipment, or get the floor checked first.

If you are still deciding what belongs in the room, our[home workout equipment reviews](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/home-workout-equipment-reviews/)put a Smith machine alongside the other big purchases, and the[Home Gym hub](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/home-gym/)lists every guide in this section.

## 11. Frequently Asked Questions

### What is the best Smith machine for a home gym?

For most people who want one frame to do everything, the Force USA G3, which combines a Smith machine, a half rack and plate-loaded cables for about $1,999. For a standalone Smith with a counterbalanced bar, the Titan Smith Machine. If you already own a compatible power rack, the Bells of Steel Smith attachment adds a Smith bar for under $1,000 without another frame.

### Is an angled or vertical Smith machine better?

Neither is better for everyone. A slight angle, such as Body-Solid's 7 degrees, shifts the bar about 2.5 inches over 20 inches of travel, which many lifters find more natural for squats and lunges. A vertical path is simpler and suits presses. On an angled machine, the direction you face changes how the path feels, so try both.

### How much does a Smith machine bar weigh?

It depends on the machine. Among the picks on this page, the makers or reviewers give about 13 to 45 lb: 25 lb for the Body-Solid Series 7, about 31 lb for the Major Fitness B52, 35 lb for the Force USA G3 and Mikolo M4-2.0, and 45 lb for the Titan, which is counterbalanced so it feels lighter. Log Smith lifts from your own machine's bar weight.

### How much ceiling height do I need for a Smith machine?

The frames on this page stand about 82 to 87.5 inches tall, so a standard 8-foot ceiling usually fits the machine. Add any flooring thickness, allow extra height for standing the uprights during assembly, and check the pull-up bar: Force USA says the G3 needs an 8 ft 4 in ceiling for full pull-ups.

### Can I add a Smith machine to my power rack?

Often, yes. Bells of Steel's attachment fits most racks with 2.3 to 3 inch tubing, a height of 72 inches or more, an overall width of 47 or 49 inches and 5/8 or 1 inch holes, according to Bells of Steel. Titan and REP sell attachments for their own racks. The rack must be square and solidly built, because the Smith rods are only as straight as the frame.

### Is a Smith machine safe to use alone?

It is safer than a free barbell for solo pressing and squatting, provided you set the safety stops just below the bottom of every rep and practise racking the bar by rotating it. Stay well inside the bar's rated capacity, keep children away from a loaded machine, and talk to a qualified professional first if you have a joint, back or heart condition.

## Common Mistakes Buying a Smith Machine

Each of these turns an expensive, heavy purchase into one that disappoints, does not fit or is less safe than it should be.

### Reading the J-hook rating as the Smith bar rating

All-in-one machines publish several capacities. The Major Fitness B52's J-hooks are rated at 1,200 or 1,500 lb, but its Smith bar at 400 lb. Find the figure for the part you will load most, and stay well inside it.

### Measuring the frame but not the loading room

You load plates from the ends of the bar and slide a bench in and out of the frame. Mark the frame plus about three feet on each loading side and in front with tape, and check the ceiling at the same spot, including the pull-up bar.

### Buying a rack attachment for a rack it does not fit

Smith kits depend on tubing size, hole size, rack height and overall width, and need a square, solid rack. Check every figure on the maker's compatibility list against your rack before ordering, and expect a folding rack not to fold with the bar installed.

### Skipping the safety stops because the bar locks

The rotating hooks only help if you can turn the bar at the moment you fail. Set the stops just below the bottom of each rep, every session, and practise racking with an empty bar until it is automatic.

## Related Home Gym Guides

[CablesBest Cable Machines for a Home GymFunctional trainers, rack attachments and digital machines, and what a 2:1 ratio means.](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-cable-machines-for-home-gym/)

[RacksBest Squat Racks for a Home GymThe free-barbell alternative, with tubing sizes, safeties and anchoring explained.](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-squat-racks-for-home-gym/)

[All-in-oneBest Home Gym MachinesWeight-stack, rod and bodyweight multi-gyms, and how to read their resistance.](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-home-gym-machines/)

## The Bottom Line

**For most home gyms, the Force USA G3 is the best Smith machine here**, with a Smith bar, half rack and plate-loaded cables for about $1,999 and the strongest warranty of the combos. Choose the Titan for a counterbalanced standalone Smith, the Body-Solid Series 7 for an angled path and a lifetime warranty, the Major Fitness B52 for a lower frame and weight stacks later, the Mikolo M4-2.0 for the most features per dollar, the Bells of Steel kit if you own a rack, and the RitFit if the budget is tight and the loads are light.

Whichever you choose, read the Smith bar's own rating and starting weight, measure the ceiling and the loading room at the exact spot, and do the floor arithmetic for an upstairs room. If you would rather keep free-weight training at the centre of the room, start with our [squat rack guide](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-squat-racks-for-home-gym/), or with [cable machines](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/best-cable-machines-for-home-gym/)if cables matter most.

## Meet the Author

[Shaheer Ali Khan, PhD](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/editorial-standards/#who) · Exercise Physiology & Biomechanics Specialist · ACSM-EP, CSCS

Shaheer holds a PhD in Kinesiology (Biomechanics) from the University of Michigan and an MS in Exercise Physiology from the University of Florida, and is an ACSM Certified Exercise Physiologist and an NSCA Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist. His treadmill evaluations look at motor performance, belt stability, shock absorption, incline accuracy, running ergonomics, noise and long-term durability. Every guide says what was checked and when, and says plainly when a product has not been tested hands-on.[Editorial standards](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/editorial-standards/) ·[LinkedIn](https://www.linkedin.com/in/shaheer-ali-khan-data/)

## Related

- [Home](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/)
- [Home Gym](https://www.treadmillreviewsusa.com/home-gym/)
