Best Smart Treadmills (2026): Screens, Apps and What You Keep Paying | Treadmill Reviews USA
TREADMILLREVIEWS USA
Lab-Tested & Verified
Buying GuideUpdated October 2026

Best Smart Treadmills Screens, Apps and the Ongoing Cost

A smart treadmill is two purchases: a machine you pay for once and a platform you pay for every month you use it. These six cover every major ecosystem, and for each one we say what the screen does when the membership stops.

Morgan Reyes

Morgan Reyes

Fitness Equipment Editor

Last Updated: October 13, 2026

User avatarUser avatarUser avatarUser avatar
Join 2.7k others who chose this

How we built this list. On 13 October 2026 we checked each machine against its manufacturer's current product or specification page, at least one major retailer listing, and independent review coverage. Only figures that agreed across those sources appear in the spec lines; where they conflicted — motor ratings on the NordicTrack machines, top speed and warranty on the Echelon, motor rating on the Horizon — we left the figure out. The Bowflex T6 figures are carried over fromour T6 review, which cross-checked them on 8 October 2026. The Peloton Tread Vision went on sale on 1 October 2026, so its figures come from Peloton's specification page and launch coverage only; there is no long-term independent coverage of it yet. None of this is our own measurement — we have not tested these machines. Price bands reflect prices seen on 13 October 2026 and change often. Subscription prices are deliberately not quoted because they change. Confirm the specification, the warranty and what works without a membership for the exact unit before you order. We earn a commission if you buy through the Amazon links on this page; it does not change which products we list or what we say about them.

Every smart treadmill is sold on its screen, and every screen is a doorway to a platform that charges a recurring fee. That is not a reason to avoid one — guided classes and auto-adjusting incline are genuinely why some people keep training — but it does mean the right question is not which screen is biggest. It is which ecosystem you want to live in for the next several years, and what the hardware is worth on the day you stop paying for it.

1. Our Picks at a Glance

Six machines, one for each of the main ways to get a screen and guided training onto a treadmill. Four have a built-in touchscreen tied to a content platform; two use your own tablet and an app of your choosing. The table is the short version; the cards below have the specifications and the caveats. Worried about the subscription? We coverwhether a NordicTrack works without iFIT.

PickBest forWhy
NordicTrack Commercial 1750Most iFIT buyers16 in. pivoting screen, decline, lifetime motor cover
NordicTrack T Series 10A built-in screen on a budget60 in. deck and full iFIT control for the least money
Peloton Tread VisionCommitted Peloton members23.8 in. swivel screen and form tracking
Echelon Stride-6sSmall roomsFolds itself flat at the press of a button
Bowflex T6Value and flexibilityJRNY, Zwift or Peloton on your tablet, no subscription needed
Horizon 7.8 ATAvoiding lock-in entirelyOpen apps, 22 x 60 in. deck, lifetime frame and motor

2. The 6 Best Smart Treadmills

The order runs from the platforms that do the most for you to the ones that leave you most free. Every card says what the screen needs a membership for, because that is the part of a smart treadmill that keeps costing money. If you have not yet decided whether you want a connected machine at all, oursmart vs regular treadmill guidecovers that decision first.

1. NordicTrack Commercial 1750

Best overall smart treadmill

Best Overall
Typical street priceAround $1,900–$2,300

16 in. pivoting touchscreen · 0-12 mph · -3% to 12% incline · folding · lifetime motor warranty

The Commercial 1750 is the middle of NordicTrack's Commercial series and the machine most iFIT buyers end up on. NordicTrack confirms a 16-inch HD touchscreen that pivots, a 0 to 12 mph speed range, incline from -3% to 12%, a folding frame and a lifetime motor warranty. Those are the figures that agree across NordicTrack's page, a major retailer listing and independent coverage. The motor rating, the deck width and the maximum user weight are a different story: they have changed between model years and different sources quote different numbers, so we have left them out — our 1250 vs 1750 comparison sets out the conflict. What makes the 1750 the best overall pick is the platform rather than the hardware alone. iFIT can change speed and incline for you during a class, including on outdoor-route workouts that use the decline, and the pivoting screen makes the non-running content usable. Without a membership it drops back to a manual treadmill with a large, mostly idle screen.

What Works

  • The largest iFIT content library, with incline and decline that the platform can drive automatically
  • A 16-inch screen that pivots, so floor classes off the belt are usable
  • Decline to -3%, which few folding machines at this price offer
  • NordicTrack covers the motor for life, the clearest durability signal in its range

What Doesn't

  • Most of what makes it smart — classes, automatic control, workout history — sits behind a paid iFIT membership
  • Motor rating, deck width and maximum user weight have changed between model years and are quoted differently across sources
  • Heavily and constantly discounted, which makes list price a poor guide to value

The default smart treadmill for someone who wants iFIT and will keep paying for it — buy it on discount, and confirm the current-year specification before ordering.

2. NordicTrack T Series 10

Best budget treadmill with a built-in screen

Best Budget
Typical street priceAround $1,200–$1,600

20 x 60 in. deck · 10 in. tilting touchscreen · 0-12% incline · up to 12 mph · 325 lb capacity

The T Series 10 is NordicTrack's entry-level folding treadmill and the cheapest way into its range. NordicTrack, a major retailer and two independent reviewers agree on a 20 by 60-inch belt, a 10-inch tilting touchscreen, 0 to 12% incline, a top speed of 12 mph and a 325 lb maximum user weight. The motor rating is where the sources part: NordicTrack lists 3.0 CHP, while a retailer listing describes a 3.6 CHP drive system rated down to 3.0, so we have not put a figure in the spec line. NordicTrack's own listing puts the motor and parts on two-year cover with ten years on the frame and one year of labour. As a smart treadmill it gets the same iFIT platform as the Commercial machines, including automatic control of speed and incline during classes. Without a paid membership, independent reviews describe a manual mode, a free account with a few template workouts and a featured class, and no entertainment apps — which is a fair summary of what the free tier of any iFIT machine offers.

What Works

  • A full 60-inch running length and a built-in touchscreen at the lowest price in the NordicTrack range
  • Same iFIT platform and automatic incline and speed control as the more expensive machines
  • Adjustable SelectFlex cushioning and a fold-up frame
  • A 325 lb maximum user weight that NordicTrack, a retailer and independent reviewers all agree on

What Doesn't

  • No decline, and a narrower 20-inch belt than the Commercial series
  • Independent reviewers describe the free tier as limited to manual mode and a handful of workouts
  • Motor cover is two years, against lifetime on the Commercial 1750

The cheapest way into a built-in iFIT screen without giving up a 60-inch deck — a good fit for walkers and moderate runners who want the classes.

3. Peloton Tread Vision

Best for Peloton classes and form feedback

Best for Peloton
Typical street priceAround $3,500

23.8 in. swivel touchscreen · 0-12.5 mph · 0-12.5% incline · non-folding

Peloton replaced its treadmill line in autumn 2026 with three machines: the folding Tread Flex, the Tread Vision and the slat-belt Tread+ Vision. The Tread Vision is the one most buyers will consider. Peloton's specification page and its launch material agree on a 23.8-inch swivel touchscreen, 0 to 12.5 mph and 0 to 12.5% incline, and the machine does not fold; Peloton lists a 59 by 20-inch cushioned belt and a 300 lb maximum user weight. Its new feature is a movement-tracking camera that scores running efficiency from cadence and vertical oscillation and counts reps in strength classes. Peloton prices the hardware with the All-Access Membership sold separately and says the membership is required for its content and features; its shop page also describes a Just Run mode for running without a class. Because the machine has only been on sale since 1 October, we cannot point to independent reliability coverage, and the warranty — 12 months limited, with longer belt, motor and frame guarantees — is shorter in parts than the lifetime motor cover several rivals here offer.

What Works

  • Peloton's instructor-led running, walking and strength classes, which are the platform's main draw
  • A 23.8-inch screen that swivels for off-belt strength and yoga classes
  • Movement-tracking camera for running-form and rep feedback, new on this generation
  • Speed and incline knobs with jump buttons for instant interval changes

What Doesn't

  • Launched on 1 October 2026, so there is no long-term independent coverage of reliability yet
  • The form-tracking, personalised plans and classes are membership features, and the membership is ongoing
  • Does not fold, and its 59-inch belt is a little shorter than the 60 inches on most picks here

For someone who already knows they want Peloton classes and will keep the All-Access Membership; nobody else should pay this much for the screen.

4. Echelon Stride-6s

Best smart treadmill for small spaces

Best Auto-Fold
Typical street priceAround $1,700–$2,300

20.5 x 60 in. deck · 10 in. touchscreen · auto-fold · 300 lb capacity

The Stride-6s is Echelon's compact smart treadmill, and its defining feature is the auto-fold: press a button and the deck folds flat against the frame, leaving a footprint small enough to stand against a wall. Echelon's listing and independent coverage agree on a 20.5 by 60-inch deck, a 10-inch touchscreen and a 300 lb maximum user weight, and Echelon lists powered incline across twelve levels. We left the top speed out of the spec line because Echelon quotes 12.5 mph while two independent reviews list 12.4, and we left the warranty out because Echelon's current page advertises a four-year guarantee while an earlier independent review gives different frame and motor terms. The subscription point matters more here than on most machines: an independent review reports that Echelon has required at least a month of its Premier membership with the purchase, and that after cancelling only a manual FreeStyle mode remains. Ask what the current terms are before you buy.

What Works

  • Folds itself at the press of a button and stores in a small footprint, which no other pick here does
  • A full 60-inch running length despite the compact design
  • Built-in touchscreen runs Echelon classes without a separate tablet
  • Usually cheaper than the other built-in-screen picks outside NordicTrack

What Doesn't

  • Independent reviews report that Echelon has required a membership with the purchase, and without one only a manual mode remains
  • Published top speed and warranty terms differ between Echelon and independent reviewers, so confirm both
  • A 10-inch screen is small for a machine sold on its classes

The pick for an apartment or shared room where the treadmill has to disappear after every session — and where Echelon classes are the plan.

5. Bowflex T6

Best for JRNY or your own tablet

Best Value
Typical street price$899–$1,299

20 x 60 in. deck · 3.0 HP (test rating) · 0-15% incline · 0.5-12 mph · 325 lb capacity

The T6 is the cheapest treadmill on this list and arguably the most flexible, because its intelligence lives on your tablet rather than in a built-in screen. The figures are Bowflex's own for the T6, cross-checked in our review: a 20 by 60-inch deck, 0 to 15% incline, 0.5 to 12 mph, a 325 lb maximum user weight and a drive motor Bowflex rates at 3.0 HP under test settings — which, as Bowflex itself notes, is not the same thing as a continuous-duty rating. The console is a dual LED and LCD layout with Bluetooth for JRNY, Peloton and Zwift. JRNY is Bowflex's own adaptive-workout platform and is a paid membership, but it is optional, and nothing on the console needs it to work. The warranty is lifetime on the frame and motor, three years on mechanical parts and one year of labour. On 13 October 2026 bowflex.com was selling it below its regular price, which is the price to wait for.

What Works

  • No subscription needed to use the treadmill; JRNY is optional rather than built into the console
  • Bluetooth connection to JRNY, Peloton or Zwift on your own tablet
  • Lifetime frame and motor warranty, plus three years on mechanical parts
  • Incline to 15% and a full 60-inch deck at the lowest price here

What Doesn't

  • No built-in touchscreen — the screen is whichever tablet you bring
  • The 3.0 HP figure is a test rating, not a continuous-duty figure, so it does not compare directly with CHP
  • One year of in-home labour is short next to the lifetime frame and motor cover

The best-value way to get a smart treadmill experience: buy a capable machine and use the tablet and app you already have.

6. Horizon 7.8 AT

Best smart treadmill with no subscription

No Subscription
Typical street priceAround $2,000–$2,700

22 x 60 in. deck · 0.5-12 mph · 0-15% incline · 375 lb capacity · lifetime frame and motor

The 7.8 AT is the top of Horizon's Studio Series, and Horizon's pitch for it is explicitly anti-lock-in: no built-in content platform, and Bluetooth that connects to whichever app you prefer. Horizon's specification page and independent reviews agree on a 22 by 60-inch cushioned deck, 0.5 to 12 mph, 0 to 15% incline and a 375 lb maximum user weight, with a lifetime frame and motor warranty, five years on parts and two years of labour. Horizon does not state a drive-motor rating, and the 4.0 figure quoted by some reviewers is the reviewers' own research rather than a manufacturer specification, so we have left it out. The console is a 9.3-inch colour display with Bluetooth speakers and tablet holders, and Horizon includes a Bluetooth chest strap. On 13 October 2026 Horizon's own store showed it below its regular price but shipping later in the month, so check stock. If you want guided classes, you bring the app and pay for it — but you can change apps without changing treadmills.

What Works

  • Built around open apps — Bluetooth to Zwift, Peloton and Kinomap — with no platform of its own to pay for
  • A 22 by 60-inch deck, the widest here alongside the NordicTrack Commercial series
  • Lifetime frame and motor, five years on parts and two years of labour
  • A 375 lb maximum user weight, the highest on this list

What Doesn't

  • The 9.3-inch colour display is a data screen, not a touchscreen, so classes run on your own tablet
  • Horizon does not publish a drive-motor rating; the figures quoted elsewhere are not confirmed by the manufacturer
  • No automatic incline or speed control from the built-in console in the way iFIT provides

The right machine for someone who wants app connectivity without being tied to one platform — and who would rather spend the subscription money on a better treadmill.

3. How We Chose These Treadmills

We have not tested these machines. The picks were made from published specifications, manufacturer listings, warranty terms and independent coverage, checked on 13 October 2026. The Bowflex T6 figures come from our own review of it, which cross-checked Bowflex's specification against independent sources five days earlier.

We started from the ecosystems rather than the machines, because on a smart treadmill the platform shapes the ownership experience more than any single specification. That gave five routes to cover: iFIT on NordicTrack and ProForm, Peloton, Bowflex's JRNY, Echelon's own platform, and open apps over Bluetooth. Within each we picked the machine that is currently sold, sensibly specified for the money and backed by warranty terms we could find in writing.

Then we applied the same rule our model reviews use: a figure only appears in a spec line if the manufacturer and at least one other source agree on it. That rule removed more than you might expect. The motor ratings on both NordicTrack machines are quoted differently by different sources and model years. Echelon and independent reviewers disagree on the Stride-6s's top speed and warranty. Horizon does not state a motor rating at all. Those figures are absent rather than guessed, and each card says why.

Two machines we considered did not make the list. The ProForm Pro 5000 has a strong deck for its price, but it is no longer clearly listed on ProForm's own site and retail listings describe versions with different screens and specifications; ourPro 5000 reviewstill covers it if you find one. The NordicTrack T 6.5 S has also dropped off NordicTrack's site, and its five-inch display was never much of a smart screen.

4. Built-In Screen or Your Own Tablet

This is the first fork in the decision, and it is worth settling before you compare individual machines. A built-in touchscreen is the polished experience: the classes are on the console, the machine knows what the class wants, and nothing needs charging or propping up. A tablet holder is the flexible one: the screen is whatever device you already own, and the app is whichever you choose.

What a built-in screen does well. It integrates. On iFIT, Peloton and Echelon machines the screen and the motor controller talk directly, which is what makes automatic speed and incline changes possible without any pairing. Larger screens that swivel or pivot — the Commercial 1750's 16 inches, the Tread Vision's 23.8 — also make off-belt strength and mobility classes usable, which is a real part of what those memberships offer.

What it costs you. Three things. The screen is part of the purchase price, and the most expensive part of many consoles. It is a computer bolted to a frame that should last far longer, and it will age faster than the motor beneath it — ourconsole fault guidecovers what happens when one fails. And it is usually locked to one platform, so the screen is worth most while you subscribe to that platform and least when you stop.

What a tablet setup does well. It separates the parts that age at different speeds. A treadmill frame and motor can run for a decade; a tablet is replaced every few years anyway, and the new one runs the current version of the app. You can move from one platform to another — Zwift this winter, Peloton's app next year — without changing treadmills. The Bowflex T6 and Horizon 7.8 AT are built around this approach, and it is why both cost less than a built-in screen of similar hardware.

What it costs you. Integration. A tablet app can only change the treadmill's speed and incline if the treadmill accepts control over Bluetooth and the app supports it, and that combination is far from universal. On many machines a tablet app reads your speed but leaves you to press the buttons. If automatic control is the main reason you want a smart treadmill, a built-in platform is still the more reliable way to get it.

5. Subscription Lock-In: What Works Without It

The membership on a smart treadmill is not a one-off add-on. It is an ongoing charge for as long as you want the classes, and over the life of the machine it can add up to more than the hardware did. We do not quote current prices because all of these platforms change them, but the shape of the cost is stable: a monthly or annual fee, sometimes with a first year bundled in at purchase, renewing automatically at full price after that.

The useful question is what each machine becomes when you stop paying, and the answers differ more than the marketing suggests.

iFIT machines (NordicTrack, ProForm). Independent reviews of the T Series and the Commercial machines describe the same pattern: without a paid membership you get a manual mode where you set speed and incline yourself, and with a free iFIT account a handful of template workouts and a featured class. The library, automatic control and entertainment apps go. OuriFIT guide works through what the membership is and is not worth.

Peloton. Peloton states that the All-Access Membership is required to access its content and features, and its shop page describes a Just Run mode for running without a class. Peloton's no-membership behaviour has changed before, so confirm the current position for the Tread Vision specifically. OuriFIT vs Peloton comparisonsets the two platforms side by side.

Echelon. This is the one to check most carefully. An independent review reports that Echelon has required at least one month of membership with the purchase, and that afterwards only a manual FreeStyle mode remains.

Bowflex and Horizon. Neither machine needs any subscription to work as a treadmill. Bowflex's JRNY is an optional paid platform; Horizon has no platform of its own. You pay for an app only if you want one, and you choose which.

If the honest answer is that you would rather not pay a monthly fee at all, a smart treadmill is probably the wrong category, and ourtreadmills without subscriptionsroundup is the better starting point.

6. Auto-Adjusting Incline and Speed: What It Is Worth

Automatic control is the feature that most separates a smart treadmill from a regular one with a tablet shelf. During a class or a route workout, the platform changes the belt speed and the deck angle for you, so a hill arrives when the trainer says it does and an interval starts without you reaching for a button.

For a lot of people that is the whole point. It removes the decisions that make treadmill sessions easy to cut short, and it makes structured sessions — hill repeats, progressive runs, the incline walks that are the most common use of these machines — far easier to follow. iFIT's version extends to outdoor-route workouts where the deck follows the elevation of a real course, which is where the Commercial 1750's decline earns its place.

Three caveats are worth knowing. First, on the built-in platforms automatic control is a membership feature; when the membership ends, so does the automatic control. Second, you can always override it, and you should — a platform does not know that your knee is grumbling today. Third, a machine's incline range limits what the platform can do: a 12% ceiling flattens any route steeper than that, and a machine with no decline cannot reproduce a descent. If incline is central to how you train, ourincline treadmill guideis worth reading alongside this one.

On tablet-based machines, automatic control depends on the app and on whether the treadmill accepts commands over Bluetooth. Some app and treadmill combinations change speed for you; many only read your speed and leave the controls to you. Check the specific pairing before assuming it works.

7. Open-App Support: Bluetooth, Zwift and the Rest

A treadmill that speaks a standard Bluetooth fitness protocol can send its speed, incline and distance to third-party apps on a phone, tablet or laptop. That is what lets a Bowflex T6 or a Horizon 7.8 AT run Zwift, the Peloton app or Kinomap without either manufacturer's involvement, and it is the single most useful feature to look for if you do not want to be tied to one platform.

The built-in platforms are much less open. iFIT, Peloton and Echelon machines are designed to run their own content on their own screens, and connecting a third-party app to them ranges from awkward to unsupported depending on the model and software version. If you want the option of Zwift as well as the manufacturer's classes, confirm it for the exact machine — ourZwift treadmill guideexplains how the connection works and what to check.

Watch and heart-rate connections are a separate question. Most current smart treadmills accept a Bluetooth heart-rate strap, and several connect to watches; the Bowflex T6 supports tap-to-connect for Apple Watch and Samsung watches, and Peloton lists Apple Watch, Wear OS, Fitbit, Garmin and WHOOP. Whether your watch records the session accurately is covered in ourApple Watch and treadmill guide.

8. Total Cost of Ownership

Comparing smart treadmills on sticker price is the single most common mistake in this category, because the sticker is only the first payment. A fair comparison adds up four things over the years you expect to own the machine.

The hardware, at the price you will actually pay. Most machines on this list were selling below their regular price on 13 October 2026, and NordicTrack in particular discounts constantly. Ourguide to when to buycovers the sale calendar.

The membership, for every year you use it. Multiply the current annual price by the number of years you expect to train with classes, and assume it will rise rather than fall. On a built-in-screen machine this line is often larger than the hardware over five years. On a tablet machine it is whatever app you choose, including nothing.

Delivery, assembly and the warranty you can rely on. Smart treadmills are heavy and most buyers pay for assembly. Read the warranty by component: a lifetime motor term next to one year of labour means the motor is covered but the visit to fit it may not be. Ourwarranty guideexplains how to read the terms.

What it is worth when you sell it. A smart treadmill's resale value depends heavily on whether its screen is still supported and whether the next owner will want the same platform. A machine with a standard Bluetooth connection and no platform dependency is easier to sell, which partly offsets its plainer console.

Run that arithmetic and the ranking changes. A Bowflex T6 on sale plus a mid-priced app can cost less over five years than a T Series 10 with a full iFIT membership, even though the NordicTrack is the cheaper built-in screen. Neither answer is wrong — it depends on whether the platform is what keeps you training.

9. Who Should Buy Something Else

If you will not pay for a membership. Most of a built-in screen's value disappears without one, so you would be paying for a large display you rarely use. Buy a well-built treadmill with Bluetooth instead — theno-subscription rounduphas the picks.

If you mainly run fast or far. Screens add cost without adding anything to the deck, motor or frame. A runner who trains by pace and heart rate is better served by spending the screen money on a sturdier machine; see ourrunning treadmill guide.

If you are committed to NordicTrack already. If the decision is which NordicTrack rather than which platform, ourbest NordicTrack treadmillsroundup compares the whole current range, including the incline trainers.

If you want Zwift above all. Look for a machine with a standard Bluetooth connection and a sturdy deck rather than a built-in platform; theZwift treadmill roundupcovers that route.

10. Frequently Asked Questions

What is a smart treadmill?

A smart treadmill connects to software that does more than show speed and distance. Usually that means a built-in touchscreen running a content platform such as iFIT or Peloton, which can stream classes and change speed and incline for you. More loosely, it also covers treadmills that connect over Bluetooth to apps such as Zwift on your own tablet.

Do smart treadmills require a subscription?

The classes and automatic control on built-in platforms do, and that membership is an ongoing cost for as long as you use them. The treadmill itself usually still runs in a manual mode without it. Bowflex and Horizon machines need no subscription to work at all; you pay for an app only if you want one. Always check the current terms for the exact model.

Is a built-in screen better than using a tablet?

It is more integrated, not necessarily better. A built-in screen makes automatic speed and incline changes seamless and suits classes that move off the belt. A tablet is cheaper, gets replaced as technology moves on, and lets you change apps without changing treadmills. If automatic control matters most, choose a built-in platform; if flexibility matters most, choose a tablet setup.

Can I use Zwift on a NordicTrack or Peloton?

Those machines are designed to run their own platforms, and connecting a third-party app ranges from awkward to unsupported depending on the model and software version. If Zwift matters to you, choose a treadmill with a standard Bluetooth fitness connection, such as the Bowflex T6 or Horizon 7.8 AT, or confirm compatibility for the exact model before buying.

What happens to a smart treadmill if the company stops supporting it?

The motor, deck and frame keep working, and most machines retain a manual mode. What you lose is the screen-based content and, eventually, software updates. That is why it is worth weighting warranty terms and the underlying hardware heavily, and why tablet-based machines age more gracefully: you simply replace the tablet.

What is the best smart treadmill for a small apartment?

Of these six, the Echelon Stride-6s is the one built for it: it folds itself flat at the press of a button and stores in a small footprint, with a 10-inch touchscreen. The NordicTrack T Series 10 and Bowflex T6 also fold. Check the folded dimensions against your space and confirm the delivery route before ordering.

Common Mistakes Buying a Smart Treadmill

Each of these comes from treating the screen as the product instead of the treadmill underneath it and the bill that comes with it.

Comparing sticker prices instead of five-year cost

The membership on a built-in platform is an ongoing charge, and over five years it can exceed the hardware price. Add the annual membership for every year you expect to use classes before comparing a smart treadmill with a plainer machine and an app.

Not asking what works without the membership

Manual mode is not the same on every machine, and on some platforms a membership has been required at purchase. Ask the retailer or manufacturer to show you exactly what the console does with no active membership before you buy.

Paying for a big screen on a weak drivetrain

The screen ages faster than the motor and frame beneath it. Check the deck size, the incline range, the maximum user weight and the warranty by component first, and treat the screen size as the last decision rather than the first.

Assuming any app can control any treadmill

Many app and treadmill pairings only read your speed; fewer let the app change speed and incline for you. If automatic control matters, confirm it for the exact pairing, or choose a built-in platform where it is part of the design.

The Bottom Line

For most people who want guided training on a built-in screen, theNordicTrack Commercial 1750 is the one to buy: the biggest content library, a pivoting screen and a lifetime motor warranty, ideally on discount. The T Series 10 gets you the same platform for less, and the Peloton Tread Vision is for people who already know they want Peloton.

If you would rather not be tied to one platform, theBowflex T6 and Horizon 7.8 ATput the smarts on your own tablet and need no subscription to work. Whichever you choose, budget for the membership as an ongoing cost, not a one-off.

See Our Top Picks